Rose to captain men’s B/ball team against B/dos

first_imgLed possibly by the youngest ever captain for any senior sporting side in Stanton Rose, the Guyana Amateur Basketball Federation (GABF) officially presented Men’s Team yesterday for the international three match series against host Barbados. Rose, the 18 year old talent from Kwakwani, leads a predominantly local team featuring Shane Webster, Anthony Moe, Harold Adams, Orlan Glasgow, Travis Burnett, Dominic Vicente, Timothy Thompson, Nikkoloi Smith, Chris Williams, Domair Gladstone, Travis Belgrave and Kevon Wiggins.In a brief comment, the Colts player stated that it’s an honour to be selected at this level to lead the nation, adding that while it is a huge responsibility, the experience of his team-mates will be utilized.The reduced Guyana’s women’s team pose for a photo opportunity moments before their departure for practice at the Cliff Anderson Sports Hall, Homestretch AvenuePresident of the GABF, Nigel Hinds, stated that it’s an historic moment for the nation, as Rose is the youngest ever captain to lead a senior side in any discipline. According to Hinds, the Barbados trip will be utilized to select the core of the squad for the impending 2018 CBC Championship in Suriname, from July 24th-30th.Guyana will depart local shores on Friday for the Land of the Flying Fish. Three matches will be contested from June 8th-10th, with the visitors returning to Guyana on the 11th.  Hinds further revealed that the federation has written to the Government of Guyana and the corporate sector in a bid to acquire the necessary funding for the CBC Championship. According to Hinds, the GABF is committed to competing at the prestigious tournament, declaring that the lack of a sporting culture locally had affected the development of sports, as the respective disciplines are heavily dependent on Government aid.He further stated that politics should be set aside for sports, as the athletes are ambassadors of the nation.Guyana will feature in group-A of the tournament, alongside host Suriname, St Lucia, Grenada and St Vincent and the Grenadines. On the other hand, Group-B comprises Barbados, Bermuda, Antigua & Barbuda, Haiti and Montserrat. Meanwhile, the Women’s Team for the CBC Tournament has been reduced to 16 players.They are Jada Mohan, Nakeda Rodgers, Kenisha Leacock, Saffiya Greene, Racquel Campbell, Laquanta Gibson, Cliffana Hunter, Kesan Charles, Genelle Ifill, Lydia Roberts, Caron Bobb-Semple, Annalisa Barclay, Ashley Khan, Ayodele Roach, Mariam McKenzie and Damelza Nicholas. The Guyanese women are in Group-B alongside Suriname, Barbados and the Dominican Republic, while group-A comprises Bahamas, Cuba and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *